About Bedale Town Council

A Waterfall in Bedale surrounded by grass and treesThe Council

The Town Council serves the Bedale community as the first tier of local government, supplementing local government services provided by Hambleton District Council and the North Yorkshire County Council, and also promoting and representing the town with these and other statutory bodies. The Town Council has statutory and discretionary powers and rights to represent and provide service to the community and provide services.

There are ten seats on the Council, and elections are held every four years, with the current term of office running to May 2023. An annual meeting is held every May at which the Mayor and Deputy Mayor are elected by the Council members.

The Council has five part-time employees:

Powers and Provisions

The Council acts as a sounding board for local opinion and has important rights of consultation. Principal (county and district) councils are obliged by law to consult the Town Council on matters affecting its area, particularly planning applications and priorities for local investment. Bedale Town Council’s powers and duties cover many things that can be taken for granted in making for comfort and well-being in Bedale. These include the provision and maintenance of the burial ground and public monuments, the clock at St Gregory's Church, litter bins, public toilets, footpaths, roadside verges, playparks and public open spaces including Bedale Park.

These services are funded by earned income (e.g. from car boot sales) and the "precept" - a council-specific tax to improve facilities and services for local people, which is collected along with council tax by Hambleton District Council.


The Town Council meets monthly. Meetings are usually held at 7.00pm on the second Monday of the month, in the Drawing Room at Bedale Hall. All meetings are open to the press and public, except for a very few reserved matters.

Contact Bedale Town Council

Nick Reed, Town Clerk

Room 13, Bedale Hall
North End

Tel: 01677 427949
Email: clerk@bedale-tc.gov.uk

Office Opening Hours:
Tuesday and Thursday 9:30am to 12:30pm

Contact the Council


Amanda Coates - Mayor

John Howe - Deputy Mayor

Mike Barningham - Councillor

Andrew Hallett - Councillor

Pamela Hallett - Councillor

David Ingram - Councillor

Christine Mollard - Councillor

John Noone - Councillor

Dawn Culver - Councillor

Emma Wells - Councillor

Version 1.19