Bedale Town Council

The Town Council serves the Bedale community as the first tier of local government.  It is an elected body with statutory and discretionary powers and rights to represent the community and provide services to it.The Council is comprised of 10 councillors who are elected for a term of up to four years. An annual meeting is held in May at which the Mayor and Deputy Mayor are elected by the Council members.

The Council has three part time employees – the Town Clerk, the Assistant to the Clerk and the Market Superintendent.

Bedale Town Council supplements local government services provided by Hambleton District Council and the North Yorkshire County Council and in addition promotes and represents the town with other national and statutory bodies.

As a local Council, Bedale Town Council acts as a sounding board for local opinion and has important rights of consultation. County and District Councils are obliged by law to consult the Local Council on many matters affecting the town such as planning applications and priorities for local investment.

Importantly Parish Councils can "precept" - raising a council tax each year to improve facilities and services for local people.

The Council’s powers and duties cover many things that we take for granted in making for comfort and well being in Bedale. These include the provision and maintenance of allotments, the burial ground and public monuments, public clocks, litter bins, public toilets, footpaths, roadside verges, playparks and public open spaces including Bedale Park.

All Parish Council meetings are open to the public. They are led by the Council's Chairman The Mayor, and advised by a Clerk who is there to see that business is conducted lawfully.  




(2015 - 2019)

Andrew Hallett - Mayor

Malcolm Young - Deputy Mayor

Michael Barningham

Amanda Coates

Mike Evitt

Clive McGill

Christine Mollard

John Noone

John E Howe

Bedale Town Council Contact

Town Clerk


Bedale Town Council
Bedale Hall

Tel: 01677 427949


Office Opening Hours: Tuesday and Thursday 9:30am to 12:30pm

Contact the Council